Five Days Until Richmond!

I can’t believe race day is almost here again! Almost all of the miles are done, the gear has been checked, the weather is being stalked.  Yikes!

Here’s a random hodge-podge of a mental dump….

How awesome is my race shirt?

23172464_10154860131987470_7057529027421159308_n

I’m a huge Tom Petty fan so this seemed quite fitting.  Seriously, 85% of my playlist will be TP.  I’m pairing it with this skort from InknBurnw-dapper-skirt-side2__08588-1493246784-1280-1280

Kinda BA, no?  Of course, it’s now supposed to be freezing at the start – which is good because I prefer cold but… whew, that’s cold!  Thank goodness I bought a new pair of heavy arm warmers!  They kept me cozy on my cool and drizzly 8 miler on Sunday so I am hopeful they will be enough.

23132055_10154858564902470_3569630960310642813_n

See the knee strap?  Yeah, that’s been bothering me for about 3 weeks now.  It’s getting better but I still can’t run without it.  I plan to tape the crap out of my leg (red and black skull KT tape!) and then put on the strap.  Just keep it together, body!

My goals range from 4:15 (pie-in-the-sky, perfect day) to 4:45.  Hell, I’d be “happy” with anything less than 5:xx – but I know I can do better than that!  The trick will be staying out of my freakin’ head. I need to do my best and forget the rest!

I’m planning to follow the same nutrition as I did for Blue Ridge, since it served me well there.  I’ve started my caffeine fast today and will start my NOx load tonight.  It is supposed to improve your blood flow.  When I’m doing a load, my veins get super big and it’s a bit freaky looking.  But, if it helps…

On Race Day, I will primarily use the Isagenix AMPED line – e+shot at the start and one or two during the race, the AMPED Fuel gels, AMPED hydrate in one of my water bottles (plain water in the other), and a few other things in case I need it (fruit bar from Trader Joe’s and some peanut butter pretzels).  I’ll also have some electrolyte capsules but I probably won’t need them if it is as cold as predicted.  I will also have some toast with almond butter and honey in my room and then a banana at the start line.

My family will be spectating (with my son wearing a Peanut Butter and Jelly costume and handing out fruit snacks and Nutter Butters for part it!) PB&J

I will see some of my MRTT sole sisters on the course.  I sure am lucky to have such a great support system.  I’ll be honest, though, I will be looking for the guys with the Jim Beam again!  They saved my bacon last year! 😀

Of course, my thought in the final .2 will be “don’t trip!!!”!

Richmond
Hell of a downhill finish!!

See you on the flip side!

 

Leave a comment