Blue Ridge Training: Weeks 6-8.5

Training is still chugging right along.  I had to get a bit creative when Snowzilla locked down the eastern seaboard for a week but I’ve managed to get all of my training runs in, as well as most of my cross training!

12524305_10153174702522470_6249339847293569584_n
10 treadmill miles…

What’s Going Well

 

*I’m super happy with my Wednesday runs.  I’m alternating between tempo runs, hill repeats, and speed work.  I’m pushing the pace or incline on all of them and I see the work paying off on the road!  My Tuesday run had me clock an 8:45 mile and then 3 more sub-10, all with hills.  Never would have happened without the speed work.  My goal is to build to a few sub 9s in a row.

12705699_10153203458872470_1464062508113792833_n
6×800 repeats – the fastest I’ve ever run in my LIFE!

*My long runs on Sundays have been going well.  I’m running with my race buddy (M) so we are working on our pacing, hill strategy, and mental game.  We’ve been around 10:45-11:15 average pace for 16 and 17 very hilly miles.  I’ll take it!

*I’ve been trying to focus on prehabbing my injuries.  I’m not 100% compliant but I have rolled and stretched more this week than I normally do.  My left hip, right knee, and right hamstring have been 50 Shade of Cranky on my long runs so I’m trying to get them to simmer down.

12715534_550912888389643_7617601922868626792_n
“When life is too much, roll with it, baby!” – Steve Winwood

*My nutrition has been great and I feel like I’m fueling properly 90% of the time.  I have learned that oatmeal in the morning is not good for me and lentils are pretty good in a salad.  Oh, and Trader Joe’s has their marinated beets back in stock.  So Good!  I made a salad for dinner with some sweet greens, marinated beets, lentils, goat cheese, shrimp, and orange champagne vinaigrette that was fantastic!

What’s Not

*My mental game on the long runs absolutely sucks.  The first half is good and the second is abysmal.  I really need to work on my positive mantras!!

12669704_10153197142702470_4157736879166077772_n
Feeling pissy on a run – find a prop and act silly!

*See above note about my various cranky body parts.

*My fueling for hard evening workouts is bad.  I didn’t eat dinner before last night’s 800s (didn’t want to burp anything up) so I ate some hard-boiled eggs and a banana when I finished and my stomach absolutely revolted.  Massive cramps and digestive issues all. night. long.

*My “easy” Saturday runs aren’t easy.  I’m pushing 9:10 for 8 miles and that is probably a big factor in my Sunday melt downs.  I seriously need to calm things down on Saturdays and save my legs a bit.

++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is the halfway week in our training and it’s technically a cut back week with no run on Saturday (but an extra 800 on Wednesday and an extra mile on Thursday).  Our chapter of Moms Runs This Town has created a virtual half for M and me (awesome!) but it’s going to so extremely cold, I can hardly think about it.  Like, “real feel of 9” cold.  Woof.  Onward and upward, though, right? I think my polar bear hat needs to make an encore appearance (over another hat because… cold)

In other news, I just signed up to take a RRCA coaching certification course in July.  I’m very interested in learning more about coaching and would love to work with “adult onset” runners (I seriously love that term!) and non-traditional athletes.  You don’t need to be young or fast to benefit from a coach!

Also, make these Strawberry Creme Truffles!  Just trust me on this 🙂

2 thoughts on “Blue Ridge Training: Weeks 6-8.5

  1. You signed up to get a coaching certificate? Because you don’t already have enough to do? 😉 lol! Although you did say the course is in July, so that is good.

Leave a Reply

