Blue Ridge Training: Week 3

 

No relevant pictures this week so I’ve included a few things that made me smile.

Monday

Planned: Cross training + 3 miles (option)

Actual: I’m back in the Monday doldrums so went with cross-training only

Tuesday

Planned: 3 miles

Actual: 3 miles with the Muffin Runners

Wednesday

Planned: 4 x 800 repeats

Actual: Confession time.  I have done sprint intervals but I have never done repeats like this!  I was a bit worried going into them but I was happy that I was able to do them all. I was between 4:11 and 4:30, which is where I thought I’d be.  Higdon says to run them like Yasso 800s. Now, according  to that, I should be able to run a marathon around 4:30.  While I’m not 100% convinced of this, it is food for thought!

Oh, and special shout-out to my running buddy, H, who also did 800s for the first time!  We’re going to rock our races this year!

12469913_10153131311352470_1422572608_o.jpg
New tights from Just Live make me happy!

Thursday

Planned: 6 miles

Actual: Fairfax Four Miler.  You all know how that went.

12465125_10153133350112470_1012511122_o.jpg
Farro with Shrimp, Lemon, and Spinach makes me happy! Not being able to finish my fire cider does not.

Friday

Planned: Swim

Actual:  3 recovery miles with a friend who is rebuilding her base. It was a delightful way to start the new year!

Saturday

Planned: 6 miles

Actual: 6 miles with a Magic Mile at mile 4.  Boy, that was stupid.  I want to try a magic mile again but not after a fast race and not after already running 3 miles and not when it is 27 degrees!  I came very close to a full-on asthma attack and the pace wasn’t much better than my fastest mile at the four miler two days before!  Oh, and it also indicates a 4:35 marathon time for me… I’m sensing a pattern.

12465178_10153132755987470_671229362_o.jpg
Crocuses make me happy! Even if they are confused by the crazy weather.

Sunday

Planned: 8 miles

Actual: 7.25.  Have I mentioned my hamstring issues?  That I’ve been having since MCM 2013?  Sometimes it’s not bad and sometimes it’s very bad.  It’s been acting up lately (hello, track!) and was cranky going into the run on Sunday.  I was having emotional issues (again!) and had finally gotten my head in the right space when I tripped over a tree branch at mile 6ish.  While I didn’t go down, nor did I push my running buddy into the street, I did land with all of my weight on my bad leg and felt a pop.  I managed to run/hobble back to our starting point and iced it while having my coffee.  Visions of a ruptured hamstring were dancing in my head.  Luckily, I think they were just hallucinations.  I’m still sore but it’s not that much more than my “normal” level of soreness (yes, I am a bad runner. please don’t lecture.)  I’m resting a bit but I don’t think it will affect my overall training or race plan.  I may rethink this week’s hill repeats, though…

12471021_10153137554367470_148348867_o.jpg
New trail shoes for cheap make me happy!

Week total: 26.75

I feel like this week’s theme is “There’s nowhere to go but up!”

 

Leave a Reply

