Death by Running

Once again I seem to be trying to #runallthemiles at one time and it is not doing my body any good.

My calendar for the past few weeks:

October 25 – Marine Corps Marathon – met my A goal, plus some!

October 31 – Anthem Wicked 10K and Monster Mile

November 8 – Across the Bay 10K –  massive PR with a sub-9 average

November 11 – Cross Country Trail Half Marathon – 2 minute PR

November 14 – Rock n Roll Las Vegas 5K – 2 minute “official” PR (but not according to my Garmin)

November 15 – Rock n Roll Las Vegas Half Marathon – Very tough race with rain, high winds, and extreme cold.  Slowest non-trail half in 2 years.

That, my friends, is a lot of running.

After the half on November 11, my left hip started to hurt.  It was feeling better when I would stretch and roll it but, on Sunday, it hurt non-stop during the race and affected my gait.  Add in lingering right knee/IT band problems and, well, I need to rethink my spring plans before I cripple myself.

I am supposed to be in week 2 of training for the Asheville Marathon right now but I have decided to defer to 2017.  It was going to be my “goal” race but, MCM was so amazing, I’m not sure I can top it right now – especially going in to training injured.  By dropping that race, that allows me another 3 1/2 weeks of “easy” running/cross training before I begin training for the Roanoke Blue Ridge (Foot Levelers? what the heck is the name of the race?) Marathon.  Considering that is going to be a very difficult race up a freakin’ mountain, I would rather not be totally incapacitated when I hit the start line.

So, what am I going to do for 3 1/2 weeks?  Not run for the rest of this week (gasp!), and then add in more cross training with short, easy runs.  I’m actually looking forward to a bit of a break.  I think it will do my body, and spirit, good.

 

2 thoughts on “Death by Running

  1. You are insane. 😉 I’m sorry the weather was crappy for your Vegas Half, but you certainly saw a lot of the sights while you were there!

Leave a Reply

