RnR DC Training: Week 8

Sunday: I ran the longest I have since October 2013!  14 sluggish miles done.  The weather was just perfect for me, cooler and overcast and I was able to try out my new arm warmers.  I kept an 11:25 average pace, which is what my marathon pace is supposed to be, and didn’t struggle overly much.  I’m also experimenting with Generation UCAN for the long runs.  A review will be forthcoming.

Monday: Schedule rest day.

Tuesday: Unscheduled rest day.  Let’s just say that sometimes being an aging woman sucks…

Wednesday: New Year’s Eve!  I celebrated by first running three miles of intervals on the treadmill at the gym and then some swimming with Little Runner.  I capped off the year by running the Fairfax Four Miler where I had a massive PR with a 9:08 average (unofficial)  time.  My running partner was out sick so I decided to just go out and see what I could do.  I’m pretty happy with the results!  10898285_10152423447602470_4667176554469555612_nThursday: Happy New Year! It was still pretty frosty when I laced up to meet some friends at 7:30 but we quickly knocked out 4 miles and started the year on the right foot!

Friday: Unexpected rest day.  No swim this morning and I felt sick in the afternoon so I opted for a hot bath 🙂

Saturday: This was to be a scheduled rest day but, since I missed Tuesday and yesterday was a rest day, I put in four miles in the neighborhood.  Also, it was raining and I wanted to run in the rain.  Yes, I’m weird.

And so ends the second month of training!

Miles for the week: 29

Total training miles: 201.2

Leave a Reply

