RnRDC Training: Week 1

Well, the first week of marathon training is in the books!  Here’s what went down:

Sunday – Ran 6.2 miles across the Chesapeake Bay Bridge.  I wore a shark hat and almost hit a PR 🙂

Monday – Rest day so no running but I did take a taekwondo class with Little Runner

Tuesday – Hills!  I met two running friends and we did hill repeats on an overpass and freaked out all of the rush-hour drivers who were coming home.  3 miles total, including warm-up/cool-down.

Wednesday – 4.5 foggy and humid miles at 4:15 am.  I had to cut it short because my glasses were constantly fogging up and I was tired of stopping to wipe them off but didn’t want to break my ankle on something, either.

Thursday – The cold found us so I just ran 3 miles on the treadmill at home.  I was trying to spice it up so I started at an easy pace and then bumped the speed up a notch with every new song.  I ended at a 9:06 pace.

Friday – Cross-training day with my Master’s swim class.  We did a mile of form drills with paddles and a pull buoy.  My arms were tired and my legs were like “glad it’s not us for once!”

Saturday – I moved my long run so I could join my Moms Run This Town chapter friends who were running through DC and around some of the monuments.  It was below 30 and windy when we started but it ended up being a really great run! I practiced my race pace and did a total of 8 miles at 11.11 mins/mile average.  My pace goal is 11:20 so I’m pretty happy with that! The family is also did a local Snowball Stampede under the newly lit holiday lights tonight in one of the regional parks. We ran and walked a total of 2.5 miles. I have no idea how long it took but we had a lot of fun!

Total mileage: 24.7 training miles + 2.5 family miles

Leave a Reply

