Holiday Sweat Challenge

As I said a few posts ago, one of my goals during this marathon training cycle is to lose a bit of weight before the training gets too heavy and then at least maintain until the finish.  Last year I gained 11 lbs by the time I crossed the finish line!  Considering that every pound lost can take up to 2 seconds off your pace, it adds up quickly!

One thing I’m doing is tracking in MyFitnessPal (and trying to not lose my mind).  Another thing that I have done is sign up for the Holiday Sweat Challenge. It is a 6 week nutrition and fitness challenge that runs from Thanksgiving through New Year’s, just when I need it most!

HolidaySweatChallenge2014SideBarWhen: Nov 24 – Jan 5
Cost: $16

For less than the cost of a gym membership:

  • 3 emails a week: Clean eating tips/recipes/guides + Motivation + Workouts
  • Content created JUST for you from registered dieticians, world class running coaches, personal trainers and physical therapists {nothing repeated from previous years}
  • Facebook support group – This group is like no other! Everyone checks in daily and provides a true support system
  • Over $3,000 in prizes {Lorna Jane, Vega, Milestone Jewelry and more to be announced}

The basics of how it works:

  • Earn points for being active
  • Earn points for eating your veggies
  • Compete against people at the same level as you
  • Enjoy an awesome support network
  • Have questions answered by experts
  • Meet other like minded folks to help you stay on track
  • Win Prizes!!
  • Clean Eating Holiday Menu ideas

I have never done a challenge like this before so I’m very curious as to how it will work for me.  I have heard good reports about this particular group.  I plan to post weekly updates here, so you can follow along.  Of course, if you’d like to register and give it a try yourself, I’d love the company!

5 thoughts on “Holiday Sweat Challenge

  1. Sounds great, I might have to check it out. I too usually go up in weight after a season of nothing but cardio (and bad eating). I want to lose 10 myself before next season and am trying to do more weights to increase my muscle and tone. You can look for me on MFP as mbuhler 🙂

    1. I need to add in more weights, too!
      I have a very bad relationship with MFP and find myself getting competitive in an unhealthy way so I use it in a bubble. I’ve only friended my husband and even that can be trying for me. Weird, I know!

      1. No worries! I’m not too strict with it but it keeps me in check. I don’t have too many friends myself and most of them I try to keep tri minded which I find a bit healthier.

Leave a Reply

