Switching Horses Mid-Stream

After much thought and consideration, I’ve decided to defer my entry to this year’s Marine Corp Marathon.  I’ve been thinking about it for a bit (more so after listening to episode 112 of Another Mother Runner Radio about when to stop training for a race).  Yesterday, it hit home when I realized that I was already a week behind in my training schedule and this weekend’s 8 miles was really supposed to be 10 miles and I just wanted to cry.

Other factors:

  • I would have to run 17 miles the day after a very, very hilly Spartan Super.
  • I would have to work in 14 miles around a sprint triathlon.
  • I would have to work in 19 miles around a (difficult) 30 mile Olympic distance triathlon.
  • I am in a “fresh meat” roller derby training program that runs until 11:15 pm once a week but will soon bump up to twice in August so that means at least 2 fewer run days (likely more because I’m always dead the day after derby practice).
  • I won’t have time to work with my personal trainer because any free cross-training has to be used on the bike or in the pool.
  • I would definitely need to stop taking family taekwondo classes with Little Runner. We’ve been doing it for the past month and he absolutely loves it but that’s another hour of my evening to schedule around.
  • I am already the “walking wounded” with plantar fasciitis now in both feet.  Ramping up the miles now will not help that – at all.
  • I have not really enjoyed a race or done overly well in one since Rock n Roll in March.

So, what does this mean?  It means that I can stay in derby, stay in taekwondo, get back to PT, and really focus on my triathlons.  It will also give me time to work on my running pace.  I plan to stay “half marathon ready” and would like to work to get to a two hour time.  I also plan to do a spring marathon so I can train over the winter when I will have fewer commitments.  I think the benefits greatly outweigh the cost of this decision.  Am I sad to be deferring and do I feel a bit like I’m not trying hard enough?  Yes, of course but I would rather cut back and do well in all of my events than do it all but just very poorly.

I do plan to volunteer at the race and cheer on all of my runner friends who will be out there.  That’s (almost) the next best thing.

 

6 thoughts on “Switching Horses Mid-Stream

  1. You’ve got a LOT on the go. It’s always hard to let go of a race but we/I have to learn that we/I can’t do everything, lol! You’ve prioritized and you haven’t given up on the race, it just might come at another time. Absolutely nothing wrong with that.

  2. I think that’s a great position to take….and Little Runner I’m sure will be happy to have a mommy with some energy. 🙂

    I’m proud of your accomplishments and especially impressed with your roller derby involvement. Maybe you can teach me to skate someday (hahaha).

    NB

  3. There are not enough hours in the day! I wish I could cut out work! ;-P But that likely isn’t a viable option if I want to keep living in my house… So you can defer your MCM until next year? That is great! I’m still dealing with my IT band inflammation, so I know being the walking wounded is no fun. I know the best way to not get wounded is to diversity – like you are with swimming a biking. So I think deferring the MCM is a great idea, and a healthy idea too!

Leave a Reply

