Consistency

In September of 2012, I became a member of Title Boxing Club.  The club wasn’t even open yet but I couldn’t wait to sign up.  I had recently completed the Couch to 5K program and had just run my first 10K – I won’t say “successfully run” because it was a nightmare! I knew I needed to do something to improve my fitness (and thus improve my running pace) but the thought of going in to a regular gym left me a cold sweat.  TBC, with its smaller physical space (you can’t get lost or blend in there!) and welcoming staff immediately made me think that this would be a good fit for me.  After the first boxing class, I wanted to die.  I thought I was going to throw up from the warm up alone and I couldn’t imagine doing eight rounds at the bags and then the core work at the end.  I practically crawled home afterwards and was sore for days.  But I came back. Again and again and again.  I made it a habit.  I made my time there an integral part of my schedule.  My other training and some family scheduling currently prevent me from attending as often as I like but my Thursday nights at TBC are sacrosanct.

Last night, I caught a glimpse of myself doing something in the mirrors (I usually face away from them so I don’t see myself 😉 ) and I couldn’t help but think that I was looking strong.  I then started to think of all of the changes I have undergone in the past year and a half.  I can honestly say that this is the fittest I have ever been in my entire life.  Granted, I still want to throw up in the warm ups and often want to die at the end of the night (especially since I now add a personal training session to the mix) but every week I am able to push just a tiny bit harder.

My previous forays into fitness always left me impatient and unsatisfied.

Image
I know I’m not alone

I would see an article about “Do this exercise for two weeks and get washboard abs” or some other nonsense, do the exercise, see no results, and give up.  But, for most people, the results are gradual!  It’s tiny baby steps instead of gigantic leaps.

Image
Or more!

Over the past year and a half, I have seen a lot of people come through the club.  A few have hung on for the long haul but most are there for a few weeks and then disappear.  I wish I could tell every single one of them to give it three solid months.  By then, they should really see (or at lease feel) results or will be so hooked, they can’t quit!  But this is true of any exercise.  Make it part of your normal routine.  Set an alarm on your phone if you have to.  Enlist friends and family to harass you if you don’t do it.  Post it on Facebook (because we all know how much everyone loves fitness posts on FB 😉 – actually, I do but that’s another post).  But the point is, DON’T GIVE UP!  Don’t let a perceived lack of progress stop you in your tracks.  Wherever you are at that moment, each exercise will move you one bit closer to your goal.  Time will pass anyway, you might as well put it to good use!

Leave a Reply

