Just Run

I have been cross training like crazy to prepare for my upcoming triathlon but I have been light on the running portion.  At first I was worried about aggravating my (almost totally resolved) plantar fasciitis and then I was limited to “zone two” runs.  A zone two run is one in which you try to keep your heart rate way low for the entire run, even if it means walking.  The theory is that, as your fitness improves, you will be able to maintain that zone at a higher pace.  That’s the theory but for me it still means sticking to a 15+ minute mile.  Needless to say, this has been messing with my head, especially with the half marathon coming up this weekend.  I have no hopes of a PR (well, maybe a little…) but I also don’t want to be swept due to exceeding the course’s time limit!

Last night a friend wanted to talk so I asked her to join me at our running group’s track night at the local high school for some laps.  I decided to leave my heart rate monitor and Garmin at home and run completely “naked”.  We ran and talked and fought some crazy wind gusts and just enjoyed ourselves.  And busted out a couple of sub 10 miles without really trying.  Where did that come from?!  Needless to say, I’m feeling much better about Saturday now!

In addition to the ego boos, it was also a good reminder that sometimes you need to dump the tech and let your body just do its thing.  Chances are, you will be pleasantly surprised by the results.

Image

Leave a Reply

