Bring on 2014

I’m not a big believer in “resolutions”, mostly because they never end well.

The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry – Robert Burns

The road to hell is paved with good intentions – Various

It’s easy to go to hell – Virgil, The Aeneid

I much prefer “goals”.  You can meet your goal or you can fall short.  There’s no value judgement built into goals like there is with resolutions.  If you don’t meet the goal, you just reset it and move on.  The goal helps you focus in the short term while you work toward the bigger picture.

When I set my goals, I try to have enough stretch to push myself but not so much as to set up a situation for failure.  I may not hit every one but I know that I will be a better person for trying.

myyear
And it’s YOUR year, too!

With no further ado, I give you my GOALS for 2014!

1. Be able to do at least 5 real pull ups before the Spartan race in the summer.

2. Complete at least 3 triathlons of varying degrees.

3. Take 40 minutes off my marathon time.

4.  Support my family as they work towards better fitness (it’s not all about me!)

5.  Be a volunteer for at least two races.

6.  Keep working on my self talk and mental view.

7. Do at least one thing that scares the crap out of me!

As I was preparing to talk to my new tri coach on the phone the other week, I grabbed a freebie notebook that some publisher had given me from my desk and jotted down a few notes.  I didn’t notice the cover until after I finished writing.  I found it supremely fitting.

expand
My mantra for 2014

What will you be doing to claim the year and expand your capabilities?

Leave a Reply

