Running Deficit Disorder

I have determined that I have RDD, Running Deficit Disorder.  It is known to set in during periods of prolonged, forced inactivity.  The key symptom is spending obscene amounts of money on running and race related events and gear when you currently can’t run even a mile.  To whit, in the past few weeks, I have:

  • Registered for the Fairfax 4 Miler on New Year’s Eve, even though I may be just walking it
  • Registered for the Cupid’s Undie Run in February (it’s to benefit children’s cancer research so feel free to click on the link and donate!)
  • Registered for Rock ‘n Roll DC half in March – It was  a good deal!
  • Entered and was accepted for the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler in April – It was a good deal!
  • Registered a team for the Ragnar Trail Relay in West Virginia in June – it was a … oh, who am I kidding?
  • Registered for a Spartan Super in August
  • Signed up for swim classes beginning in January
  • Signed up for tri training with Swim, Bike, Mom

I’m pretty sure I’ve done more but I can remember what.  I swear, I’m spending money faster than a drunken sailor on shore leave!

Image
I have the utmost respect for the military but put a race bib on him and this could be me!

In an effort to reign it in a bit, I have decided to not push for three half marathons in March/April that I would need to “moon up” a level in the Half Fanatics group.  One would require travel and the other is pretty pricy so I’m going to let them slide.  I also plan to restrict the travel races next year to just the Spartan, Ragnar, and maybe one in Pittsburgh (I really want to do a race there and spend the weekend so Little Runner can have fun at the museums).

Unfortunately, the only “cure” for RDD is to get back in to training.  For my bank account’s sake, I hope that’s soon!

One thought on “Running Deficit Disorder

Leave a Reply

