Pain in the PF

I’ve been trying to hide a little secret for a bit but it is becoming impossible. I am currently battling a nagging case of plantar fasciitis. It started a few weeks ago with just a mild pain in my heel. I was worried about my long run last week but, while it was sore at first, it settled down and I was able to finish without too much pain. I think the ice bath and compression socks after helped a great deal. On Tuesday, I wore a new pair of minimal shoes to kickboxing and TRX, hoping to improve my stability. Three steps into the warm up run and it was back in full force! I stupidly pushed on but I could hardly walk the next day. My day job gives me access to clinical medicine databases so I decided to play armchair doctor (don’t do this!).

Disclaimer: I’m not a doctor and I don’t even play one on TV. Do not follow my half-assery in lieu of seeking professional medical advice.

The course of treatment, according to MDConsult, is RICE (rest, ice, compression, elevation), stretching, orthotics, night splint, then more aggressive interventions if it doesn’t resolve after 6 weeks. The stretches are:
– Heel raises performed on the edge of a stair
– Toe-only and heel-only walking, forward and backwards
– Rolling a vegetable can on the floor under the arch of the foot

I’ve heard people using a frozen water bottle as a roller so I opted for that approach. I also found some more stretches at Runner’s World that I like. The fascia release is especially effective. I’m also foam rolling my calves because there some talk of tight calf muscles being a contributing factor.

I am now stretching and icing religiously and wearing my Tevas for work. Im also not going barefoot at home. The pain yesterday was much more manageable.

What does this mean for my running? As long as the pain is moderate, I plan to continue on. I am doing just five miles on Saturday and my long run on Sunday will be broken into two runs and done on the treadmill for less impact. I hope to resume my outside schedule next week.

Have you ever had plantar fasciitis? How long did it take you to recover?

Plantar Fasciitis. Clinical Topic. MD Consult Web site, available at: http://www.mdconsult.com.proxygw.wrlc.org/das/pdxmd/body/424904200-3/1476168865?type=med&eid=9-u1.0-_1_mt_1010016 Updated July 31, 2013. Accessed September 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

