Doldrums

How are my fellow fall marathoners doing?  I don’t know about you, but I’m hitting the doldrums.  I know there is a lot of work ahead of me but I feel like I’ve lost my breeze.

ImageI’m starting to feel pretty tired almost all of the time, my sleep is less than optimal – even on heavy workout days, and new pains and niggles are popping up.  I have two “new mileage” runs yet ahead – 19 this weekend and then 20 next – and then I start cycling down to the Big Day.  Almost exactly 52 days from now, I will be crossing my first marathon finish line!

Thankfully, I planned for this low point so I have some nice “carrots” waiting for me.  My 20 miler will be basically a very large training run with support (no Camelbak! Whoot!) and then I have some fun races all ready to go.  They are almost every other week but I really need that race energy to help me through the back half of the training plan.  While I do plan to test my pacing strategy at the half marathon 3 weeks before MCM, I am just looking to cruise the Army Ten Miler.  I’ll be sure to stay in the last corral for that one  🙂

In the meantime, I’m trying to take better care of myself.  I’m bumping up my chiro appointments to every other week (and not with the quack who I think misdiagnosed a rib problem last weekend), trying to be more mindful of my nutrition and hydration needs, focusing on stretching more, and I’m seriously considering a sports massage for after my longest run (even though I have “issues” when it comes to massages).  I also have one more “treat” in mind but I’m not ready to share it yet…

How about you? Do you find the second half a training plan to be more difficult?  How do you keep your focus, especially with a longer schedule?

Leave a Reply

