Fueling the Run

I have been eating “clean” and following the Primal Blueprint diet for just over a year now.  This is similar to the Paleo/Caveman diet except it allows dairy and it has a more forgiving 80/20 philosophy.  Both of these factors are extremely important to me because a) OMG, I can’t give up cheese! and b) if there are strict rules of “eat x and you have failed” then I will eat all of the x in the world and go down in a ball of flames.  The more forgiving “try to avoid x but if you eat it occasionally, it’s no biggie” leaves me not even wanting it. Yes, I need help.  🙂

Anyway, this has been great for my overall health but I’m finding that I need to do some serious tweaking as my mileage increases.  About an hour before my long run, I’ve been eating what someone called “paleo mash” on a thread on FB.

Paleo Mash

1/2 c. pumpkin

1 mashed banana

1 egg

cinnamon

Mix it up very well and cook over low heat until thoroughly heated/egg is cooked. Mix in some walnuts, raisins, and unsweetened coconut flakes.

It tastes pretty decent, it’s filling, and it doesn’t upset my stomach at all.  I plan on making some ahead of time and bringing it to any races where we stay at a hotel. Eating in a restaurant before a race is always an iffy proposition for me and this will eliminate that worry.

For mid-run fuel, I put a glob of raw honey in a small baggie.  I bite off a tiny corner and take just a bit every 20 minutes or so.  I also bring a small baggie of golden raisins.  They have the same number of carbs (though marginally fewer calories) than Sports Beanz.  I’ve heard about people bringing small salted potatoes and I think I might try that soon.  I sweat so incredibly much, I do worry about my electrolyte balance.  I also like Huma Chia Energy Gels but I’m running out of my stash so I try to use them sparingly.

For fluid, I have a 1.5L Camelbak that I completely drain by mile 12 (13 on a cooler day).  I only use water because I won’t drink Gatorade and those are usually the only two choices at races.  I like having my Camelbak for carrying all of my stuff and so I don’t have to worry about dropping water bottles before I run but I DESPISE it at the end of a long run!  I just can’t wait to get it off my back!

What do you like to have on your long runs?  Do you prefer GUs, etc. or do you use whole food? 

3 thoughts on “Fueling the Run

  1. I have been using honey stinger chews for my fuel. I also put nuun in my camelbak for electrolyte replacement which I absolutely love. I’ve been training with my camelbak so I’m thinking about using it for the marathon as well!

    1. I can’t drink Nuun – even the natural line – it upsets my stomach. I can use EFS (another electrolyte powder) but I’m not keen on racing with my Camelbak. I might bring it on my 20 miler and see if it bugs me too much.

  2. I’ll have to give that Paleo mash a try… I have been sticking to fueling with Gu primarily. It’s not really my ideal, but I haven’t found anything else that works great.

Leave a Reply

