Back on Track

I didn’t realize until last night how sick I’ve been the past couple of months.  It was so nice to be able to fully participate in my kickboxing and TRX classes!  Two weeks ago, I could hardly make it through the kickboxing – I thought several times of stopping and basically collapsed on the floor after each round. I even had problems breathing and keeping my pace during the warm-up runs.  Last night was tough but I remained upright throughout and was able to keep up with the majority of the floor work.  Well, except the military push-ups.  Those kicked my ass!

I was also very happy to see some real progress in my upper body strength! Six months ago, I couldn’t do even one full push up or hand plank and barely managed a forearm plank.  Last night I was able to do full pushups during that section of core work and managed most of the plank and pushup variations that were assigned.

My TRX class has been reformatted from group to personal training since there weren’t enough participants for a class.  While I do like the group atmosphere, I know that I am going to get a lot more out of the personal training.  My trainer was watching me like a hawk through the entire session – Elbows in! Chest up! Look up! Keep your weight in your heels! Watch your knee!  Breathe! – talk about multitasking! I definitely can’t coast in these sessions and I can feel the difference today! My side plug for TRX is that you need to try it if you are looking to work your core and improve your running.  I know that I am handling hills significantly better now because of the classes.  I am much more aware of my form and keeping my core engaged.  Seriously, check it out!  And, if I am ever able to manage a handstand push up in the straps, you know I’ll be posting a picture!

In running news, I have a very hot 15K tomorrow morning. It’s a local event, thankfully, but it will be in the 80s by the time I finish.  I am drinking tons of water today and quasi dreading tomorrow.  There are posts floating around Facebook right now that drinking a slushy helps with the cooling process.  I think all of that sugar would kill me but maybe I can figure out a healthier alternative.  I’m thinking coconut water and frozen fruit… Thankfully, the neighborhood pool is open so we’ll be cooling off there as soon as I’m done!

Happy Friday!

One thought on “Back on Track

  1. Make a slushy at home with your choice of running beverage (such as Gatorade or Nuun) – works like a charm!

Leave a Reply

