Fitting

Yesterday I had a fitting at the local bike shop for a super speedy Cervelo time trial bike with aerobars. Similar to this:

Similar to this
Talk about bringing a gun to a knife fight!
Source

Let me back up.  When I decided I want to try a triathlon, I posted this on Facebook and said I would somehow find a bike. A friend immediately popped up with an offer to use her bike.  I thought it was just a hybrid/road bike – maybe a Schwinn.  Uh, no.  This is a serious tri bike with the special aerobars (which scare me a bit) and shifters (which I do like).   It is one sexy bike!

The first order of business was to get me fitted for the bike.  My friend is a bit shorter so I stopped in to the bike shop last night to have everything adjusted. In work clothes. And flats.  Duh!  Of course the padding on the shorts and my type of shoe would make a difference!  The woman who helped me was super nice but I can just imagine what she was thinking!  She hid it well but I know she thought I was all sorts of crazy.

She raised the seat and flipped the stem so she could raise the bars higher (otherwise the incline from back to front was like 15 degrees!)  Unfortunately, the front brake cable is too short now and this brand uses a special type so they are ordering in a longer one.  It won’t be in until next Tuesday.

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t intimidated by this bike!  I know I need to be confident or I will have problems but I’m just not there yet.  I have an uneasy relationship with bikes.  I didn’t learn how to ride a two wheeler until I was 8 or 9 (I think because of my eyes) and have had various mishaps over the years (almost falling off the sidewalk in front of an oncoming truck was a big one!).  I think I had better wear knee and elbow pads, in addition to the helmet, for the first few rides!  I am definitely starting slow.  I will take the bike to a nearby park at the crack of dawn so I can ride on the access road around the park before it gets too busy – and there are too many witnesses to my blunders.  Hey, I wonder if I could have the bike shop add training wheels??

Onward and upward!  Tri clinic on Sunday where I will get to show off my lack of swimming skill!

Leave a Reply

