A Man, A Plan, A Half-Marathon!

Half Plan
A “clean” version of my plan – the one on the fridge is a mess!

I have my training calendar hanging on my refrigerator and I check it every morning, some times more than once, to see what’s on tap for the day. I realized today that I’m almost halfway to my first half! Yikes!  I feel ready, though.  There is still a lot of work to do, and I do want to improve my pace some more before the race, but I feel that I could finish it today if I absolutely had to.

I’m basically following the Train Like A Mother 1/2 Marathon – Finish It! plan. I found these ladies shortly after finishing my C25K program. I was looking for a running book that was geared more towards women and wasn’t terribly scary (no super fit, super toned runners on the cover!) The Run Like a Mother and then Train Like a Mother books certainly fit the bill.  They have a ton of insight into being a “mother runner” plus they provide an instant support network through their Facebook page. Their plans fall into either “finish it” with a focus on just crossing the finish line in one piece, or “own it” with a focus on crushing it. This year I finish, next year I will crush!

I have been asked a lot lately about how I find time to do this and I have to admit that it isn’t always easy.  My husband has class until 9 pm twice a week, we have a whole zoo in the house to manage, one car, and we each have an hour commute each way.  Time definitely is crunched but I have realized that I need to make the time to do this, FOR ME.  Some A lot of things slide. My floors aren’t the cleanest and the kitchen table is frequently cluttered, but I am in a much better place emotionally and physically.  I’ll take that over a spotless house any day!  If something is really important to you, you will find a way to make it happen.

Another “trick” is really good time management and an extremely helpful partner.  We currently wake up each morning at 4:05 am.  I’m out the door to take the dog on a 2 mile walk by 4:20 (he’s runs well in the daylight, not so much in the dark).  My husband prepares for his day and it out the door by 5:40.  On Wednesdays, he teleworks so that he can manage the dog and school drop off while I do a quick 3 miles on the treadmill.  I then finish whatever is left for that day’s workout in the evening after our son goes to bed.  On my cross-training days, my husband is home by 4 so he can walk the dog, pick me up at the bus, take me to kickboxing, pick up our son, and then pick me up again after class (whew)! I honestly do not know what I would do if my husband wasn’t not a willing and enthusiastic helper in this.  He also tackles the laundry while I am on my long runs on Sunday!  I know, too good to be true!

I don’t know how I will handle the full marathon training in the fall.  I was thinking on my commute this morning that I should start looking at that calendar but I think I might enjoy the ignorance for a bit longer, at least until after the Dismal Swamp Stomp.

Leave a Reply

